Aalto University consists of six schools. Each school has a dean and an academic committee.


The executive bodies at the university level are the Board, the president and the Academic Affairs Committee. Aalto University has a provost, five vice presidents and a Tenured Professors Council.


Click the organisation chart to view it larger.

Foundation-based Aalto University

Aalto University is a foundation based university. The capital of the university foundation was formed by donations of at least EUR 700 million. This capital was accumulated in stages between 2008–2010 by a Government donation of  EUR 500 million and donations of at least EUR 200 million from Finnish industries and other financiers.

The capital and the profits it generates will be of central importance to the new university in reaching its targets. Profits gained from the capital will enable the university to execute its strategy and provides Aalto University with better preconditions for long-spanning basic research.

Acts and decrees concerning Aalto University

Acts and decrees concerning Finnish universities

Universities Act (in Finnish, pending English version,

Act on the implementation of the Universities Act (
Government Decree on University Degrees (

Acts and statutes concerning Aalto University Foundation

Foundations act (, pdf)
Aalto University Bylaws (16 Sep 2016, pdf)

Aalto University regulation

Aalto University Foundation Constitution (4 Oct 2016. pdf)
Aalto University academic rules and regulations (, student portal)

School of Arts, Design and Architecture

The Aalto University School of Arts, Design and Architecture was formed on 1 January 2012 when the former School of Art and Design and the Department of Architecture at the School of Engineering merged together.

The School of Arts, Design and Architecture is the largest of its kind in the Nordic countries and one of the most prestigious in the whole world. The school researches design, digital media, audiovisual presentation, art education and visual culture. The viewpoint of usefulness forms the foundation of artistic activity.

Other units

School of Business

The School of Business is one of the leading business schools in Europe and globally recognized for its management research and education in particular. It is the first Nordic business school to receive all three of the field’s international accreditations (AACSB, AMBA and EQUIS).

Other units

School of Chemical Engineering

Areas of emphasis for the School of Chemical Engineering include environment-friendly and energy-efficient processes, the diverse utilisation of wood and other biomaterials, new materials and their application, new engine fuels, the shaping of micro-organisms and enzymes as well as novel pharmaceuticals and biomaterials.

School of Electrical Engineering

Important research areas at the School of Electrical Engineering include traditional electronics, electrotechnology and telecommunications technology. Micro- and nanotechnology have also been emphasised by researchers in recent years. There are almost two dozen research units, which focus on subjects ranging from acoustics to intelligent power electronics.

Other units

School of Engineering

The School of Engineering researches and teaches fields that encompass all aspects of our built environment. Climate warming, energy conservation and the sustainable utilisation of natural resources form the focal areas of both research and education.

School of Science

The School of Science engages in world-class fundamental research, the results of which it uses to develop scientific and technological applications. The fields of computation and modelling, materials research as well as ICT and media account for a large share of the research performed at the School.

Other units

Other units and institutes

Page content by: | Last updated: 04.10.2018.